Closing concert. Gidion Kremer, Georgy Osokin, Hugo Ticciati (CONCERTS WILL BE HELD IN THE LARGE HALL)

Sv. 13. Septembris 2020 17:00

Mazā zāle

Performers: Gidon Kremer (violin), Luciana Mancini (mezzo-soprano), Hugo Ticciati (violin), Georgy Osokin (piano), Kremerata Baltica Chamber Orchestra


Part I

Andrius Žlabys (1978)
“Kaleidoscope of Lost Time” (world premiere)

I. Prelude
II. Scherzo-Passacaglia
III. Dissonance
IV. Quarter = 87
V. Perpetuum

Arturs Maskats (1957)
“Summer Dreams”, Concerto for Violin, Voice and Chamber Orchestra (world premiere)
Performers – Luciana Mancini, Hugo Ticciati & Kremerata Baltica

Part II

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
Beethoven Aria from op. 132
Performers – Hugo Ticciati & Kremerata Baltica

Ludwig van Beethoven
Concerto No. 4 for Piano and Orchestra in G major, Op. 58, version for chamber orchestra
I. Allegro moderato
II. Andante
III. Rondo (Vivace)
Performers – Georgy Osokin & Kremerata Baltica

In the closing concert of “Festival Kremerata Baltica” alongside maestro Gidon Kremer and the orchestra’s resident artist, pianist Georgy Osokin, special guests will be welcomed – the extraordinary and intellectual violinist Hugo Ticciati, who has repeatedly performed compositions by Latvian composers, as well as mezzo-soprano Luciana Mancini. The Chilean-Swedish singer is a brilliant performer of early music, performing with famous early music ensembles such as the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra and L’Arpeggiata.

The programme includes two world premieres – the world-renowned Lithuanian pianist and contemporary music enthusiast Andrius Žlabis has created a new piece for Gidon Kremer and “Kremerata Baltica” entitled “Kaleidoscope of the lost time”, but Arturs Maskats, who enjoys a bit of the nostalgic ache, has composed music for poems by Emily Dickinson in the Concerto “Summer Dreams” for Voice, Violin and Chamber Orchestra. This work is an international collaboration – for Kremerata Baltica Orchestra in cooperation with the Swedish ensemble O/Modernt, who will be the next performers of “Summer Dreams”.

Ludwig van Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4 was described after its premiere as “the most amazing, artistic, unusual and complicated concert composed by Beethoven”. Piano Concerto No. 4 is also considered to be the most lyrical, flexible and gentle of his piano concerts – this opus is truly the perfection of Beethoven’s genius art.
But in the world of Beethoven’s late string quartets, philosophical bells ring, sinking to such depths that were not understood by his contemporaries. Beethoven himself has described the slow part of the 15th string quartet as “a hymn of thankfulness to divinity by a patient, who is recovering”.

Event producer: Dzintari Concert Hall